LIFE DRAWING – EXTENDED

Standard

I really want to improve my drawing skills and it is my main focus at the moment, I have heard from many sources that life drawing is the best way to do this. I have been trying to do a few figures most days. At the moment this is just “nudes” from Google images but I would like to draw real life examples. I have been trying a number of different techniques and will eventually find a style that I like. At the moment I am playing with pen and marker as it allows to capture a pose in around a minute. I will continue to work on different styles and I am starting to read “Dynamic Figure Drawing” by Burne Hogarth (I will create a separate blog about the books/resources that I am using at the moment.. life1   I’m really not happy with the top figure, I think that I spent to long drawing the lines/outline and that I should have made more spontaneous marks, I think that this would have give the picture more life, and at the moment it looks the most two dimensional and “flat” of all the sketches that I have done recently. I regards to the second figure in the sketch above, I think that the body is “okay” and does capture what I was drawing, however I find the face to be very poor. This is something that I have found in the majority of my life drawing. My next element that I will focus on will be rendering faces and expressions quickly. life2   I liked this picture, I think that the body looks good and the minimum use of pen on the body means the focus is on the markers. Although my scanner is not very good at capturing the different shades and in real life there is more of a contrast between the colours. Once again the head on this figure is its main weakness. I originally had a small portion of her face showing, however it looked really poor and so I decided to “cheat” and cover it with hair. I think that the markers did allow me to render the cloth really quick and I experiment with them further once I start to concentrate on drawing fabrics etc.

Leave a comment